Facts only please....

General discussion about computer chess...
BTO7

Facts only please....

Post by BTO7 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 2:59 am

Bottom line .....what is ILLEGAL about IPPOLIT ? I dont want what anyone thinks should be ect.....what is ILLEGAL about IPPOLIT? Its not a clone is a fact so lets hear it.

Regards
BT

BTO7

Re: Facts only please....

Post by BTO7 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:57 pm

In light of the poll and the silence of this post ....I think we have a answer.

Regards
BT

yanquis1972

Post by yanquis1972 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:42 am

i couldn't answer the question if there is anything illegal (tho i voted legal & ethical as my opinion btw), but i don't think end users such as myself can safely say it is 'fact' that it's not a clone (well, derivative). if you're a programmer & that's your informed opinion, i cannot argue with you, but as a layman i have trouble believing vas would be so terribly dishonest as many seem to think. unfortunately that's now probably greatest reason for doubt in my mind (i used to be in the school that thought it was 'obvious' they were very, very heavily derived from rybka, from simple use of them)...i've also seen a lot of 'assuming BB is being honest' type stuff from the programmers commenting -- we don't know for certain there isn't an agenda which didn't consciously or subconsciously cloud his report. so we have the programmers are taking one man's word, even if at a distance, because it's an extraordinary undertaking that few if any of them are going to do themselves.

i'm playing devil's advocate a bit, but i am not remotely ready to say it is literally FACT that ippolit is not a rybka derivative. i think that will remain my case until (if ever) there is a uniform expert opinion.

BTO7

Post by BTO7 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:14 am