Page 1 of 3

Stockfish question

Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:44 pm
by Rebel
Is there an option to totally exclude LMR in Stockfish? I want to measure the elo gain of LMR.

But perhaps one of the programmers can tell me straight away ;)

Ed

Re: Stockfish question

Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 9:53 pm
by Peter C
Rebel wrote:Is there an option to totally exclude LMR in Stockfish? I want to measure the elo gain of LMR.

But perhaps one of the programmers can tell me straight away ;)

Ed
Suppose you could edit it yourself and recompile without LMR. But other than that, I don't think so.

Peter

Re: Stockfish question

Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:46 pm
by mcostalba
Apply following patch and compile.

Code: Select all


--- a/src/search.cpp
+++ b/src/search.cpp
@@ -882,7 +882,7 @@ namespace {
                     // if the move fails high will be re-searched at full depth
                     bool doFullDepthSearch = true;
 
-                    if (    depth >= 3 * OnePly
+                    if (    false && depth >= 3 * OnePly
                         && !dangerous
                         && !captureOrPromotion
                         && !move_is_castle(move))
@@ -1351,7 +1351,7 @@ namespace {
           // If the move fails high will be re-searched at full depth.
           bool doFullDepthSearch = true;
 
-          if (    depth >= 3 * OnePly
+          if (    false && depth >= 3 * OnePly
               && !captureOrPromotion
               && !dangerous
               && !move_is_castle(move)
@@ -1728,7 +1728,7 @@ namespace {
       // If the move fails high will be re-searched at full depth.
       bool doFullDepthSearch = true;
 
-      if (   !captureOrPromotion
+      if (   false && !captureOrPromotion
           && !dangerous
           && !move_is_castle(move)
           && !move_is_killer(move, ss))


Re: Stockfish question

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:41 am
by Sean Evans
Peter C wrote:
Rebel wrote:Is there an option to totally exclude LMR in Stockfish? I want to measure the elo gain of LMR.

But perhaps one of the programmers can tell me straight away ;)

Ed
Suppose you could edit it yourself and recompile without LMR. But other than that, I don't think so.

Peter
And you are 12-years old Peter? Ed has been a programmer three times longer than you have been alive :)

Re: Stockfish question

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 2:57 am
by Sentinel
Sean Evans wrote:And you are 12-years old Peter? Ed has been a programmer three times longer than you have been alive :)
As Marco shown LMR condition appears in only 3 lines in search.cpp. Finding them, even if you are unfamiliar with Stockfish code takes about 1 minute (supposing you have some chess programming experience, which is more than true in Ed's case).
Ed's question just demonstrates his laziness I would say...

Re: Stockfish question

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 6:56 am
by mcostalba
Sentinel wrote:Ed's question just demonstrates his laziness I would say...
Also my answer :D

Re: Stockfish question

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 7:48 am
by Rebel
Sentinel wrote: Ed's question just demonstrates his laziness I would say...
Exactly! :mrgreen:

And going one step further, would someone do it for me?

Seriously, I don't have MSVC and don't want to go through that. I exclusively have used the "Digital Mars" compiler in the past and that one is not compatible with MSVC and/or GCC source code.

Ed

Re: Stockfish question

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 12:25 pm
by mcostalba
Rebel wrote:
Sentinel wrote: Ed's question just demonstrates his laziness I would say...
Exactly! :mrgreen:

And going one step further, would someone do it for me?

Seriously, I don't have MSVC and don't want to go through that. I exclusively have used the "Digital Mars" compiler in the past and that one is not compatible with MSVC and/or GCC source code.

Ed
Sure ! As long as that 'someone' is not me :mrgreen:


BTW you'd certanly know that you can download and setup MSVC 2010 Express version for free and in less then half an hour, do you ? ;)

Re: Stockfish question

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:11 pm
by Peter C
Sean Evans wrote:
Peter C wrote:
Rebel wrote:Is there an option to totally exclude LMR in Stockfish? I want to measure the elo gain of LMR.

But perhaps one of the programmers can tell me straight away ;)

Ed
Suppose you could edit it yourself and recompile without LMR. But other than that, I don't think so.

Peter
And you are 12-years old Peter? Ed has been a programmer three times longer than you have been alive :)
Ahem. 13. ;)

Peter

Re: Stockfish question

Posted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:26 am
by Rebel
mcostalba wrote: BTW you'd certanly know that you can download and setup MSVC 2010 Express version for free and in less then half an hour, do you ? ;)
Well, as nobody volunteered I had too :lol: I have an eng-eng match running now, SF 1.8 vs SF 1.8 (no LMR). Long time ago I did the stuff.

The normal SF typically hits 5-6 more plies than the no-LMR version on a time-control of 40/10. Nevertheless the first game looks bad for SF 1.8

We will see...

Ed