A question on rotated bitboard

Code, algorithms, languages, construction...
n_ven

A question on rotated bitboard

Post by n_ven » Wed May 04, 2011 8:08 am

Hi All,

I am a novice chess programmer started to build a simple chess engine based on bitboards. This query is regarding the rotated bitboard. In almost all the internet pages, I see that we need to have a lookup table represented as rank_attacks[64][256], file_attacks[64][256] for caching the attack table for sliding pieces. My question is why do we need to calculate the attack table for all the 64 squares. i.e Cant we just have rank_attacks[256], file_attacks[256] as this table is going to be the same for all the ranks regardless of the square and when we need to calculate the attack table say, for square 43 with rank state 10011101(157), we can just do

rank_attacks[157]<<8*5 (Square 43 lies on rank 5)

The only drawback I see is the calculation of the rank for a given position requires a division. i.e 43/8 = rank 5

Is my understanding correct or am I missing something here.

Thanks,
Venkatesh N

khearn

Re: A question on rotated bitboard

Post by khearn » Wed May 04, 2011 8:57 am

A factor of 8 definitely matters for the sake of determining where your moving piece is in the occupancy set (you have different legal targets along the first rank from e1 than a1 if say c1 is occupied). You could probably shift it back along the other direction (though instead of multiply and divide/modulus you can use bitwise ands and shifts to extract rank or file from square and multiply/divide by 8). Not sure if it's worth the effort.

If size of tables really concerns you, you can reduce the 256 to 64 though because the outer bits don't matter in the occupied state (there's no square behind them to block). Just shift by 1 bit further to take off the low bit, and mask off the high bit when building your occupancy byte.

khearn

Post by khearn » Wed May 04, 2011 9:27 am